Shoulda Woulda Coulda

I shouldn’t probably write this post.

Without Rufus I wouldn’t have these words.

But, apologies for the double negative here, I couldn’t not write this post.

I shouldn’t pretend to know what I’m talking about. I should admit to filling in the gaps.

I wouldn’t know what to tell me. I would be hoping I wouldn’t make you cry.

Why couldn’t all I wished for be mine? How could this be our normal.

I shouldn’t wish for things to be different. I should embrace the change.

But every now and then I wish these problems wouldn’t trouble you. What would you be like?

And yet I couldn’t imagine you any other way, the boy that could.

I shouldn’t have so many faces. With my children, my husband, I should be consistent.

Why wouldn’t someone make this whole system easier to navigate? I wish they would.

I couldn’t do this without you. If only I could repay you all. Or even remember to text you back.

I really should do more. I should worry less. There should be more hours in the day.

I wish I knew what I would do. If fixing you were a craft project, I would do that.

Ask me to rise to another challenge? Now I know I could.

If there are things you think you shouldn’t say, nobody’s perfect, you should.

Think you wouldn’t be able to cope, you would.

To those who think you couldn’t do this, you could.

 

 

One thought on “Shoulda Woulda Coulda

Leave a Reply

